A love of metro stations in Paris

30 May

I love metro stations in Paris.  I love that they each have quirks that set them apart from the others.  I love that they are reflective of the quartier that lies just above the ground.

Here are just a few of my favourites…

Metro Vaneau in the 6th arrondissement, Ligne 10

This was the first metro stop I could call my own, and for that reason alone it will always be special.  On my first trip to Paris I stayed in a gorgeous apartment just off the rue des Sevres (incidentally one of my favourite streets in Paris but that’s a whole other post).  In the early days where I was constantly hovering between a state of seriously lost and blissfully unaware of how seriously lost I was, Vaneau was a grounding landmark.

Metro Liège in the 8th arrondissement, Ligne 13

The inclusion of Liège here is a bit of an inside joke.  It is situated between the large interchange station of Saint-Lazare, and the ever-crowded Place de Clichy.  As such, it operates as a sort of ghost station, where almost no one gets on, or gets off.  Those who do get out at this arret often stand, blinking for a few seconds, as if they’re not quite sure what to do next.

The lack of popularity may be largely due to an extended closure of the station from the beginning of WWII until 1968.  Even then, Liège was subject to limited opening hours until 2006.

Metro Louvre-Rivoli in the 1st arrondissement, Ligne 1

Whenever I need to take the metro in the 1st I always walk that little bit further to get on at Louvre-Rivoli.  I find it to be much more visually stimulating that the larger, neighbouring Palais Royale-Musée du Louvre station.  Artefacts in glass cabinets and the low-lighting evoke a sense of calm reverence.  Though the beautification of this stop does have one flaw – the seating, though picturesque, was definitely not made for sitting on.


Plan du metro

There is just something about the plan du metro that appeals to me.  Even though I currently have no practical need to use the map, I like to look at it from time to time.

There’s something reassuring about it.

I also like to keep an eye on it just in case the RATP try something tricky.  You know, like adding line 7 bis (who takes this odd, circular line anyway?).

Image of metro Vaneau courtesy of @rgs on Flickr.
Image of metro Liège courtesy of JR_Paris on Flickr.
Image of metro Louvre-Rivoli courtesy of enric archivell on Flickr.
Image of metro map courtesy of firepile on Flickr.

2 Responses to “A love of metro stations in Paris”

  1. Karima June 5, 2012 at 10:58 PM #

    Coucou!
    J’ai lu ce post ainsi que celui au sujet de Nantes et je dois dire que tu as un certain talent d’écriture des blogs! Je trouve ça vraiment très bien!

Leave a Reply

