A slice of Paris on Chapel Street

29 Aug

Last Saturday, fed up with having multi-coloured hair (the result of an unfortunate addiction to L’Oreal Preference DIY hair dye) and with the promise of a summer holiday lurking just around the corner, I took myself off for a professional cut and colour.

Not being a regular salon-goer I had a bit of a dilemma on my hands regarding where to go. Being the weekend, I didn’t really feel like trekking into the CBD so I narrowed my search down to Chapel Street and its environs. A quick google search brought up 6 or 7 contenders.

Some were quickly eliminated for the simple fact that they offered no price list (my pet hate, like restaurant websites that don’t carry a menu). Others appeared a little too snobby for me, and that left me with one that fit the bill perfectly.

Just a short 15 minute walk from home, with a price list (that didn’t give me heart palpitations) and an easy to navigate website. The girl who answered the phone was polite, informative and put me instantly at ease about not having cut my hair since last December.

The morning of I wandered over, and was ushered inside into a modern, white-walled haven, part sleek salon, part edgy Melbourne café. I was led to a big wooden communal table covered in pile after pile of the latest fashion, gossip, lifestyle and art magazines. In a word – heaven.

I was offered the full gamut of coffee, tea, water and settled on a peppermint tea.

Anticipating a teabag hanging over the side one of those big white industrial-sized mug that Australian workplaces buy by the truckload, I was pleasantly surprised when an elegant silver tray arrived, complete with mini teapot, stylish cup and saucer and the best part – an individually-wrapped speculoos biscuit.

Now those of you who have been reading my blog since the beginning will know that one of my first French food moments involved an individually-wrapped speculoos biscuit in Paris and here I was reliving that moment all over again.

The attention to detail didn’t stop with the refreshments however, and I was given a lengthy, informed consultation about my hair.

A few dozen foils, two Vogues, a Madison and a Shop magazine, 3 hours and a blow-dry later I was done.

And I couldn’t help but thinking how nice the whole experience was. Sure, you pay a premium for the privilege but, walking out the salon door, admittedly, hip pocket a little lighter, but a little bit blonder and a lot more relaxed – it was worth every cent.

If you too could use a little slice of relaxation you can find them here.

___________________
Boy with rainbow hair image courtesy of Nikita Kashner on Flickr.
Hair salon image courtesy of MarkBon on Flickr.
Speculoos biscuit image courtesy of wisdomlight on Flickr.
Fashion magazines image courtesy of sassattack on Flickr.

7 Responses to “A slice of Paris on Chapel Street”

  1. Chapel Street precinct August 29, 2012 at 7:22 PM #

    So can we get a picture of your new ‘do? 🙂

  2. Karima August 29, 2012 at 7:40 PM #

    You can’t let us without a photo of the result ???? !!!!! ???

  3. probe97 September 24, 2015 at 5:25 PM #

    Love those gorgeous glossies.

Leave a Reply

