Colour Your World

8 Oct

One of my favourite things about getting ready to go on holidays is the shopping. It is probably the period of the year where I spend the most money on clothes. Which is crazy when you think about it. But, for those ten days a year, I am my absolute best-dressed self.

There is just something about being on vacation that makes me bolder with my wardrobe. Perhaps it is the exotic location, or the warm weather. Or maybe it’s just the knowledge that I will probably never see the other resort guests again. Either way, I feel much freer to experiment with fashion on holidays.

To give you a little context, when Fifty Shades of Grey was first released I thought people were talking about my wardrobe. I wear a lot of black, grey, beige and taupe. I dress conservatively and rarely venture into the realm of trends. Mainly because I’m nowhere near cool enough to pull off coloured jeans (other than black), my legs are too short for ankle boots and I have way too much backside for high-waisted shorts.

But, when I set out on a shopping spree for Malaysia I found myself automatically relaxing my usual requirements. Bright watermelon shades were introduced, royal blue accents were purchased. I convinced myself to buy a heavily patterned full-length flowy skirt – and wear it. I even dipped a cautious toe into the somewhat scary world of fluoro, acquiring a beaded necklace. (It was from Diva, mind you, so that if I never wore it, the knowledge that it was only $15 would stave off the guilt.)

All three swimsuits that I packed were of the colourful, patterned variety (okay, I also brought my black one piece along – just in case!), and I chose only my sunniest shades of OPI nail polish.

And you know, it felt really good to let a little colour into my life.

So now that I am back my challenge is to incorporate a little of that brightness into my everyday wardrobe. Even it is only in the form of some California Raspberry nail polish worn under socks and boots.

How do you like to colour your world?

_____________
Kookai images courtesy of kookai.com.au.
OPI image courtesy of CucumPear on Flickr.

2 Responses to “Colour Your World”

  1. caroline1t October 8, 2012 at 7:01 AM #

    I agree, there is something so fun about traveling with ‘experimental’ outfits. I think it ‘s because no one knows you and therefore you don’t really care about any judgment!

    xo

    • parisinmypocket October 8, 2012 at 8:25 AM #

      Thanks Caroline and welcome! Glad to hear you feel the same 🙂

Leave a Reply

