Eating Our Way Through February

18 Feb

Champagne

February has been a busy month.

On the 9th we attended the wedding of good friends in Sydney, where we ate, drank and danced the night away. On the 12th we celebrated my 24th birthday with cocktails, sangria and tapas. On the 14th we enjoyed a lovely home cooked meal (even though Max doesn’t believe in Valentines Day) of French champagne and duck confit. On the 16th we parted ways for our respective hens and bucks weekends (both of which involved a great deal of eating and drinking), and on the 23rd, we will be married in a restaurant.

We celebrate the only way we know how – with good food and good wine.

All of this celebrating is well and good, but eating pork belly twice in one week, churros and cupcakes in the same night, and countless glasses of champagne do not a skinny bride make.

Cupcake

Now, truth be told, I am not really concerned with losing x amount of kilos before the big day. I bought a dress that fitted me at my usual, average size. It is a dress that will forgive a kilo or two either side. It is a dress that understands that my love of good food will always trump my desire to look like Miranda Kerr in a bikini.

Many of my already-married friends keep assuring me that with all the last minute stress in the lead up, I’ll drop a few kilos without even noticing.

To this statement I take great exception. I am just not someone who gets busy and forgets to eat. In fact, I don’t think I have ever, in the history of my existence, forgotten to eat. I may have missed a meal somewhere along the line, but I can assure you it wasn’t because it slipped my mind.

Nutella

I get stressed, and busy, and head directly for the Nutella jar, spoon in hand. Or I decide that a packet of neon orange Twisties from the work vending machine are a good choice. Stress does not make me lose weight. And that’s okay.

I fully intend to eat a decent breakfast, morning tea and lunch prior to our afternoon wedding. And at said wedding, I will be sure to enjoy every last bite of canapés, entrée, main, dessert and cake.

It is my ‘big’ day after all!

___________
Champagne image courtesy of chrischapman on Flickr.
Cupcake image courtesy of shimelle on Flickr.
Nutella jar courtesy of p3nnylan3 on Flickr.

4 Responses to “Eating Our Way Through February”

  1. Karima February 18, 2013 at 7:04 AM #

    Super nice article ! Make me laugh a lot!
    Being like that is great, you’ll pass an extraordinary day!
    In France, bloggers call it ” un joli jour”.
    Je te souhaite donc un merveilleux joli jour, et bien sûr je serai là pour le voir!
    Bisous

  2. parisinmypocket February 18, 2013 at 8:30 AM #

    Thanks Karima 🙂

    Looking forward to celebrating with you all next week!!

  3. thecookingchook February 18, 2013 at 4:09 PM #

    Wow! Congratulations on your pending nuptials and hope your big day is a really special one. How exciting! In regards to forgetting to eat – my body would never allow me to forget to feed in regardless of whether I’m stressed or not… Nutella jar definitely 🙂

    • parisinmypocket February 18, 2013 at 9:41 PM #

      Thanks very much! Yes, I am glad I’m not alone on this one 🙂

Leave a Reply

